Thursday, July 30 Revisited


Still not here to cull pity. In the time since Thursday, July 30, much
has passed. I now, live in West Virginia again. Me and my wife decided
to return of our own accord.

I left Friendship Industries to take employment with a major temporary
services employer. That fell through in that I was without work for a
week out of a month. A letter came for me during that week, it was
requesting an interview at a large apple processing business.
Worked at the apple place, the fruits known as apples not apple
computers, for a while until told a work season was ending. I was
never put on full time despite working it. They kept me seasonal,
along with several immigrant workers.

Never have minded working with people of any variety. To me, people
are people, you’ll find good and bad in all walks of life. Spades are
spades and sometimes I make no bones expressing that. Mind you humble
readers I also like to adhere to the Golden Rule as best able, too.

So, back in West Virginia, I meet up with her mom and dad. We all have
an open, mature discussion regarding life. After a few weeks her dad
approaches me regarding our discussions, he explains that actually
applying for disability may be a good idea. I tell him that while not
saying no outright to such an idea, I would need some time to consider
it.

Forward another fortnight, I am seeing clear that he’s right. Me and
wife set into applying for it. I often rely on her to handle paperwork
as my hand writing is atrocious at best. I can write, just not wholly
legibly unless typing or using a computer.

Skipping over a period of several months between, I have a lawyer
finishing up the third level of my appeal for disability. Been going
to therapy with a social worker who specializes in substance abuse but
has a good general psychoanalytical background. Also been seeing a
psychologist doctor, my original one put her foot down with me. I do
now have in my transcripts P.T.S.D listed.

She was mad at seeing the previous doctors only suggesting it to me.
“No, you won’t weasel out of it this time. I’m your doctor, I say you
have P.T.S.D, you have it.” *chuckle* And yes, I did weasel out of it
as long as able. This old dog rather keep working.

Also, I take the highest rated dose of medicine for high blood
pressure. Deal with constant pain due to sciatic nerve issues. I guess
in working at poultry plants, fast food, lugging around 250 lb apple
transport bins I wrenched something but good. Arthritis enjoys
visiting at times too.

The nerve issue bugs me, not only due to the pain but in those odd
sporadic moments when my appendages try doing weird stuff involuntary.
One day I spilled coffee because my left hand decided it was time to
just fling itself around. I had no control of it save but to notice
obviously. “Oh, gee that’s nice! Argh!”

So, here’s me on the ruddy edge. That’s part of what the blog title is
about. In case anyone had wondered. I do not feel any sense of
grandeur to think anyone did, but in case.